Just Penned!! – Shivering lamp of hope

I am a dilapidated place of worship
With a shivering lamp of hope
My song in praise of Thee is feeble
Sunk in earthly dope

The charmers have kept me from path
Playing the tunes and chords of wrath
I’m coiled and swooned in my gloom
To the stink of lust, I’ve given a room

The bats that hang and jackals’ howl
Threaten me from begging pardon
What would hit the roof of Thy throne
To get Thy mercy’s cordon?!

The lamp is losing its oil
The night is wading midst us
Inwardly I melt and melt
Bless me before I’m broke and bent

Mashook Rahman
Photo Courtesy: Internet

Leave a Reply

